Limit this search to....

Elvis 30 Number 1 Hits
Artist: Presley, Elvis
UPC: 00078636807928
Label: Rca Records/Sbme
Genre: Popular Music
    OUR PRICE: $12.01  
Product Type: Compact Disc
Released: September 2002
Additional Information
Weight: 0.22 lbs
Track Listing
1 Heartbreak Hotel
2 Hard Headed Woman
3 One Night
4 (Now and Then There's) A Fool Such As I
5 Big Hunk O' Love, A
6 Stuck on You
7 It's Now or Never
8 Are You Lonesome Tonight?
9 Wooden Heart - (German)
10 Surrender
11 (Marie's the Name) His Latest Flame
12 Don't Be Cruel
13 Can't Help Falling in Love
14 Good Luck Charm
15 She's Not You
16 Return to Sender
17 (You're The) Devil in Disguise
18 Crying in the Chapel
19 In the Ghetto
20 Suspicious Minds
21 Wonder of You, The
22 Burning Love
23 Hound Dog
24 Way Down
25 Little Less Conversation, A - (JXL Radio Edit Remix, radio edit remix, bonus track)
26 Love Me Tender
27 Too Much
28 All Shook Up
29 (Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear
30 Jailhouse Rock
31 Don't
Release Date : 09/23/2002
General Description : Performer
Muze Genre-sub class : Oldies
Number of Discs : 1
Running Time : 79 minutes 19 seconds
Performance Recorded : Studio
Review Expert : Rolling Stone (10/02, p.75) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...The proverbial offer no one can refuse..." Entertainment Weekly (9/27/02, pp.86-7) - "...It does the job as intended: a one-stop-shopping intro to Elvis..." - Rating: A- Q (12/02, p.69) - Included in Q Magazine's "The 50 Best Albums of 2002." Q (10/02, p.124) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...For a single-disc summation of his life, this one is a treat..." Uncut (12/02, p.160) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...An evocation of his career and an impressively astute assemblage....A canny introduction to the King's output..."
Misc Note : Personnel includes: Elvis Presley (vocals); Gordon Stoker, Ben Speer, Brock Speer, Rad Robinson, Jon Dodson, Charles Prescott, Millie Kirham, Sherrill Nelson, Kathy Westmoreland, Myrna Smith; The Jordanaires; The Surfers; The Sweet Inspirations; The Imperials; J.D. Sumner & The Stamps. Producers include: Steve Sholes, Chet Atkins, Chips Moman, Felton Jarvis, Elvis Presley. Compilation producer: David Bendeth. Includes liner notes Peter Guralnick and Ernst Mikael Jorgensen. All tracks have been digitally remastered. Personnel: Elvis Presley (vocals); Myrna Smith, Charles Prescott, J.D. Sumner, Rad Robinson, Jon Dodson, Kathy Westmoreland, The Stamps, The Sweet Inspirations, Ben Speer, Gordon Stoker, Millie Kirkham, Brock Speer (vocals). Audio Mixers: David Bendeth; Ray Bardani. Audio Remasterers: George Marino; Ted Jensen. Audio Remixer: David Bendeth. Recording information: 01/10/1956-10/29/1976. Introduction by: Peter Guralnick. Photographers: Alfred Wertheimer; Albert Watson . Commemorating the 25th anniversary of Elvis Presley's death, 30 #1 HITS presents a career-spanning serving of the King's chart-toppers. Dating back to "Heartbreak Hotel" (which was inspired by a suicide note printed in the Miami Herald), most of these cuts have become indelibly etched into the fabric of pop culture and each has a unique story behind it. "Love Me Tender" has its origins in the Civil War ballad "Aura Lee," "It's Now Or Never" found Elvis Americanizing the Neapolitan ballad "O Sole Mio," and "Wooden Heart" likewise was converted from a German children's song. This Memphis native's choice of artists to cover was equally intriguing and includes Hollywood legend Al Jolson ("Are You Lonesome Tonight?"), New Orleans soul shouter Smiley Lewis ("One Night"), blues great Big Mama Thornton ("Hound Dog"), and country titan Hank Snow ("[Now And Then There's] A Fool Such As I"). Further testimony of Presley's long-lasting appeal is the inclusion of the JXL Radio Edit Remix of "A Little Less Conversation," a UK #1 that not only enabled Elvis to have more chart-toppers than The Beatles, but also became a hit in a number of other countries including the United States.