Limit this search to....

Les Miserables (ocr)
Artist: Original Cast
UPC: 00720642415122
Label: Dgc/Geffen/Reunion
Genre: Original Cast Recordings
    OUR PRICE: $30.40  
Product Type: Compact Disc
Released: January 1989
Annotation: Musical set in the period of the French Revolution of 1832.
Additional Information
Units: 2
Weight: 0.37 lbs
Track Listing
1 DISC 1:
2 Overture / Work Song
3 Castle on a Cloud
4 Master of the House
5 Thenardier Waltz of Treachery, The
6 Look Down
7 Stars
8 Red and Black
9 Do You Hear the People Sing?
10 Valjean Arrested / Valjean Forgiven
11 What Have I Done?
12 At the End of the Day
13 I Dreamed a Dream
14 Lovely Ladies
15 Who Am I?
16 Come to Me (Fantine's Death)
17 Confrontation
18 DISC 2:
19 In My Life
20 Little Fall of Rain, A
21 Drink With Me
22 Bring Him Home
23 Dog Eats Dog
24 Javert's Suicide
25 Turning
26 Empty Chairs at Empty Tables
27 Wedding Chorale / Beggars At TheFeast
28 Finale
29 Heart Full of Love, A
30 Plummet Attack
31 One Day More
32 Upon These Stones (Building the Barricade)
33 On My Own
34 Upon These Stones (At the Barricade)
35 Javert At The Barricade / Little People
36 First Attack, The
Release Date : 07/01/1991
General Description : Performer
Muze Genre-sub class : Pop Vocal
Number of Discs : 2
Running Time : 104 minutes 8 seconds
Performance Recorded : Studio
Misc Note : The song selection is slightly different than the London Cast, and the song "Little People" is edited. Composed by Alan Boubill and Claude-Michel Schonberg. Additional producer: Claude-Michel Schomberg. Originally conceived as a simple recording production, Les Miserables evolved quickly into one of the premiere theater events of the 1980s. Theatrically on par with Phantom of the Opera, Les Mis is drawn from the Victor Hugo novel of the same name. The story chronicles the life of Jean Valjean, a simple Frenchman arrested as a youth for stealing a loaf of bread. After serving five years for that crime, as well as an additional 14 for attempted escape, Valjean is released on parole. Upon changing his name and eluding his parole officer, he becomes the surrogate father of a young girl and a Mayor as the French Revolution sets in. As the war rages, he finds that he cannot change the man he is. Les Miserables is typical of theater in the '80s, with extravagant effects and large, full-cast numbers. The beautiful score is full of emotion and humor, including such memorable and noteworthy songs as "Look Down," "Do You Hear the People Sing?," "Bring Him Home," "Empty Chairs at Empty Tables," and the ubiquitous "On My Own." The original Broadway cast recording contains some very fine performances, particularly by Colm Wilkinson (as Valjean) and Frances Ruffelle (as Eponine, the waif). The vocals on this recording are heavy on character, making it an interesting and entertaining listen. ~ Sarah Erlewine