Limit this search to....

Classic Sinatra:his Great Performance
Artist: Sinatra, Frank
UPC: 00724352350223
Label: Capitol Records
Genre: Vocals
    OUR PRICE: $8.00  
Product Type: Compact Disc
Released: March 2000
Additional Information
Weight: 0.20 lbs
Track Listing
1 I've Got the World on a String
2 It Happened in Monterey
3 Oh! Look at Me Now
4 Night and Day
5 Witchcraft
6 Lady Is a Tramp, The
7 All the Way
8 Come Fly With Me
9 Put Your Dreams Away (For Another Day)
10 One for My Baby (And One More for the Road)
11 Come Dance With Me
12 I Get a Kick Out of You
13 Nice 'N' Easy
14 They Can't Take That Away from Me
15 My Funny Valentine
16 Young at Heart
17 Someone to Watch over Me
18 In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning
19 I've Got You Under My Skin
20 You Make Me Feel So Young
Release Date : 03/28/2000
General Description : Performer
Muze Genre-sub class : Pop Vocal
Number of Discs : 1
Running Time : 59 minutes 40 seconds
Performance Recorded : Studio
Review Expert : Q (9/00, p.128) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...The casual fan and the newcomer to the Sinatra canon will be well served here....bringing to mind not just music or a man but an era of classic American songwriting."
Misc Note : Personnel includes: Frank Sinatra (vocals); Nelson Riddle, Billy May (arranger, conductor). Recorded between 1953 and 1960. Includes liner notes by Bruce Springsteen and Pete Hamill. Digitally remastered using 24-bit technology by Bob Norberg (Capitol Mastering). Audio Remasterer: Bob Norberg. Recording information: 1953-196?. Photographer: Sid Avery. Arranger: Nelson Riddle. Sinatra's years on the Capitol label (1953-60) were great years. His voice had matured into a powerful and poignant instrument; his sense of swing was infallible; and he was blessed with an innovative and sophisticated arranger, Nelson Riddle, whose charts fit Sinatra like a beautiful suit. This one-disc compilation of 20 songs includes many classics: "I've Got You Under My Skin," "You Make Me Feel So Young," "The Lady Is a Tramp," In The Wee Small Hours of the Morning," and "One For My Baby (And One More For the Road)." The packaging is attractive (with some great photos of Sinatra) and the digital re-mastering was done right. Also included are updated versions of songs Sinatra sang in his earlier years ("Oh! Look At Me Now," and "Night and Day"). While this CD is not all-inclusive--some of the more melancholy songs of these years are omitted--it's a collection that can be listened to again and again.