Limit this search to....

Les Miserables:original 1985 (ocr)
Artist: Original Cast
UPC: 00766930003329
Label: First Night/Red
Genre: Original Cast Recordings
    OUR PRICE: $21.01  
Product Type: Compact Disc
Released: December 2012
Additional Information
Units: 2
Weight: 0.30 lbs
Info: Remastered
Track Listing
1 DISC 1:
2 Mis‚rables, musical: Prologue. Work Song, Les
3 Mis‚rables, musical: Castle in a Cloud, Les
4 Mis‚rables, musical: Master of the House, Les
5 Mis‚rables, musical: Th‚nardier Waltz, Les
6 Mis‚rables, musical: Stars, Les
7 Mis‚rables, musical: Look Down, Les
8 Mis‚rables, musical: Little People, Les
9 Mis‚rables, musical: Red & Black, Les
10 Mis‚rables, musical: Do You Hear the People Sing?, Les
11 Mis‚rables, musical: Prologue. Valjean Arrested / Valjean Forgiven, Les
12 Mis‚rables, musical: Prologue. What Have I Done?, Les
13 Mis‚rables, musical: At the End of the Day, Les
14 Mis‚rables, musical: I Dreamed a Dream, Les
15 Mis‚rables, musical: Lovely Ladies, Les
16 Mis‚rables, musical: Who Am I?, Les
17 Mis‚rables, musical: Fantine's Death. Come to Me, Les
18 Mis‚rables, musical: Fantine's Death. Confrontation, Les
19 DISC 2:
20 Mis‚rables, musical: Love Montage. I Saw Him Once / In My Life / A Heart Full of Love, Les
21 Mis‚rables, musical: Javert's Suicide: Soliloquy, Les
22 Mis‚rables, musical: Turning, Les
23 Mis‚rables, musical: Empty Chairs at Empty Tables, Les
24 Mis‚rables, musical: Wedding Chorale / Beggars at The Feast, Les
25 Mis‚rables, musical: Finale. Do You Hear the People Sing?, Les (Reprise)
26 Mis‚rables, musical: The Attack on Rue Plumet, Les
27 Mis‚rables, musical: One Day More, Les
28 Mis‚rables, musical: On My Own, Les
29 Mis‚rables, musical: The First Attack, Les
30 Mis‚rables, musical: A Little Fall of Rain, Les
31 Mis‚rables, musical: Drink With Me, Les
32 Mis‚rables, musical: Bring Him Home, Les
33 Mis‚rables, musical: Dog Eats Dog, Les
Release Date : 12/11/2012
General Description : Performer
Muze Genre-sub class : Pop Vocal
Number of Discs : 2
Running Time : 97 minutes 32 seconds
Performance Recorded : Studio
Misc Note : Principal cast includes: Patti LuPone, Colm Wilkinson, Frances Ruffelle. Producers: Alan Boubil, Claude-Michel Schonberg. All music written by Alan Boubil and Claude-Michel Schonberg. The songs on this recording are slightly different from those on the Broadway cast album, including a complete version of the song "Little People." Lyricist: Herbert Kretzmer. Adapters: John Caird; Trevor Nunn. Liner Note Author: Sheridan Morley. Recording information: CTS Studios, Wembley (10/28/1985-11/12/1985). Originally conceived as a simple recording production, Les Mis‚rables evolved quickly into one of the premiere theater events of the 1980s. Theatrically on par with The Phantom of the Opera, Les Miz is drawn from the Victor Hugo novel of the same name. The story chronicles the life of Jean Valjean, a simple Frenchman who was arrested as a youth for stealing a loaf of bread. After serving five years for that crime, as well as an additional 14 for attempted escape, Valjean is released on parole. Upon changing his name and eluding his parole officer, Valjean becomes the surrogate father of a young girl and a mayor as the French Revolution sets in. As the war rages, he finds that he cannot change the man he is. Les Mis‚rables is typical of theater in the '80s, with extravagant effects and large full-cast numbers. The beautiful score is full of emotion and humor, including such memorable and noteworthy songs as "Look Down," "Do You Hear the People Sing?," "Bring Him Home," "Empty Chairs at Empty Tables," and the ubiquitous "On My Own." The original London cast recording is considered by many to be superior to various other releases of Les Miz, including the Broadway cast. Colm Wilkinson and Frances Ruffelle originate here the roles they played in the Broadway cast, joined by Patti LuPone and Michael Ball. An important addition to a collection for those who want a nearly complete version but who don't need the full symphonic version. ~ Sarah Erlewine