Limit this search to....

The Girl from Everywhere Reprint Edition
Contributor(s): Heilig, Heidi
ISBN: 0062380761     ISBN-13: 9780062380760
Publisher: Greenwillow
    OUR PRICE: $8.99  
Product Type: Paperback
Published: February 2017
Qty:
Annotation: Growing up beside her father on a time-traveling ship that ventures to real and imaginary places, 16-year-old Nix struggles to preserve her life when her father obsessively pursues a map in a past time period in ways that threaten her existence. Simultaneous eBook. 50,000 first printing.
Additional Information
Library of Congress Subjects:
Fantasy.
Time travel; Fiction.
Pirates; Fiction.
Dewey: [Fic]
LCCN: bl2017004545
Academic/Grade Level: Grade 10-12, Age 15-18
Book type: Juvenile Fiction
Physical Information: 8.25" H x 5.50" W x 1.50" (0.74 lbs) 471 pages
Scholastic Reading Counts Info
Quiz #: Q70195
Reading Level: 4.6   Interest Level: Grades 9-12   Point Value: 21.0
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Reviewed by Horn Book Guide Reviews (Horn Book Guide Reviews 2016 Fall)
Aboard their ship Temptation, Nix travels through maps to different times with her captain father. But he just wants to return to the time before her mother died, 1868 Honolulu, even though it could endanger Nix. A love triangle feels unnecessary, but this exciting time-travel adventure with many impressively evoked settings, real and mythological, will please genre fans. Copyright 2016 Horn Book Guide Reviews.

Reviewed by PW Annex Reviews (Publishers Weekly Annex Reviews)

Debut author Heilig sets this swashbuckling time-travel adventure primarily in 19th-century Hawaii, when the islands were colonized but still had a king. Sixteen-year-old Nix Song is a resourceful and multilayered heroine who navigates a tall ship across enchanted maps that lead to particular moments and places in time—some real and some mythological, depending on the map. Her father, Slate, captains the Temptation through time, in hopes of returning to the days before Nix's mother died giving birth to Nix in 1868 Honolulu; when a map from 1981 fails them, they instead land in modern-day New York City. Nix lives under the shadow of Slate's loss, and their relationship suffers for it—not to mention that Nix's life may be at stake if Slate succeeds in saving her mother. Heilig's writing is richly immersive, and a mature exploration of complicated love, both familial and romantic, underlies the story. A riveting and far-reaching fantasy that crosses seamlessly across the centuries, posing questions about fate, loyalty, and belonging. Ages 13–up. Agent: Molly Ker Hawn, Bent Agency. (Feb.)

[Page ]. Copyright 2016 PWxyz LLC

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2015 December)

Gr 8 Up—Nix has spent all of her 16 years with her father as a time-traveling pirate aboard a physical ship, navigating into the margins of historical maps to reach his ultimate goal—returning to Honolulu in 1868, the time and place of Nix's birth, to save her mother, who died when Nix was born. Nix's home is the sea and her family the ship's crew, and while she adores traveling and dreams of navigating on her own, she fears the end of her father's journey. If he can save her mother, Nix will no longer exist. Can she find a way to strike out on her own and reunite her parents? History and mythology fans will love this fast-moving ride through time, where mythological maps take Nix and the crew to real places with items and creatures true to the map's design. Nineteenth-century politics involving the Hawaiian royal family and control over the islands create mystery and danger as Nix endeavors to discover her mother's identity, reconcile with her father, and accept her feelings for Kash, the Persian thief who has become her closest friend on the ship. VERDICT This must-have fantasy adventure will appeal to fans of Rick Riordan's "Kane Chronicles" and Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner's "Starbound Trilogy," (both Disney-Hyperion).—Kerry Sutherland, Akron-Summit County Public Library, OH

[Page 121]. (c) Copyright 2015 Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.