Limit this search to....

Before She Ignites
Contributor(s): Meadows, Jodi
ISBN: 0062469401     ISBN-13: 9780062469403
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
    OUR PRICE: $16.19  
Product Type: Hardcover
Published: September 2017
Qty:
Annotation: A debut entry in a new series by the author of the Incarnate trilogy follows the experiences of young woman who, in the wake of a cruel betrayal, loses her status as a Hopebearer for her people and must learn to survive on her own while uncovering devastating secrets. Simultaneous eBook. 25,000 first printing.
Additional Information
Library of Congress Subjects:
Magic; Fiction.
Betrayal; Fiction.
Survival; Fiction.
Dewey: [Fic]
LCCN: bl2017036984
Academic/Grade Level: Grade 7-9, Age 12-14
Series: Fallen Isles
Book type: Juvenile Fiction
Physical Information: 8.75" H x 6.00" W x 1.75" (1.22 lbs) 481 pages
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Reviewed by Publishers Weekly Reviews (PW Reviews 2017 July #1)

In this first book in the Fallen Isles trilogy, a young woman who is looked upon as the heart of her seven-island nation must stand up for what she believes after being bitterly betrayed. When 17-year-old Mira Minkoba discovers governmental treachery, she speaks out and is sent to the Pit, the most notorious prison in the Fallen Isles. At the mercy of Altan, a vicious guard with an agenda, Mira works to survive in order to save the dragons she loves and trains, see her family and friends again, and protect new allies she makes in prison. The narrative shifts between Mira's harrowing time in the Pit and her pampered former life; Meadows (the Orphan Queen series) doesn't instantly transform her into a ready-to-fight warrior, and she portrays acutely Mira's insecurities about not living up to the demands of her station or to her mother's expectations. Meadows leaves room to flesh out Mira's island world in future books while exploring issues of inclusivity and discrimination. Fans of Naomi Novik's Temeraire series or Julie Kagawa's Talon books will be delighted. Ages 13–up. Agent: Lauren Macleod, Strothman Agency. (Sept.)

Copyright 2017 Publisher Weekly.

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2017 September)

Gr 9 Up—Mira Minkoba, nicknamed the Hope-Bearer, is seen as the living representation of the Mira Treaty. The treaty united and brought equality to the six island-nations of the Fallen Isles; each island (populated by people of color) is connected to a different god who bestows gifts to its people. Mira, used to being the mouthpiece of The Luminary Council, is thrown into prison, known as the Pit, when she discovers dragons have gone missing and makes the mistake of bringing it to the council's attention. Away from her best friends, wingsister Ilina and protector Hristo, who disregards his islands' peaceful ways, Mira must rely on herself for the first time. Living with anxiety, the protagonist has learned to cope with breathing exercises and panic pills. A secret obsession with counting everything turns shame to skill when learning to communicate with prison mate Aaru in code. Relying on her belief in the treaty, and the ways of her island gods Damyan and Darina, the lovers, Mira works to survive and make allies. Interspersed with flashback chapters, the novel is fairly fast-paced with surprising twists and turns. This richly written fantasy—the first in a trilogy—will keep readers asking whom to trust and wondering what's true. For fans of Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake, Long May She Reign by Rhiannon Thomas, and Graceling by Kristin Cashore. VERDICT A must-have for YA collections, especially where the author and fantasy is popular.—Rebecca Greer, Hillsborough County Public Library Cooperative, FL

Copyright 2017 School Library Journal.