Limit this search to....

Heart of Iron
Contributor(s): Poston, Ashley
ISBN: 0062652850     ISBN-13: 9780062652850
Publisher: Balzer & Bray
    OUR PRICE: $16.19  
Product Type: Hardcover
Published: February 2018
Qty:
Annotation:

An action-packed tale full of romance, royalty, and adventure, inspired by the story of Anastasia. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows, Cinder, and the cult classic television show Firefly.

Seventeen-year-old Ana is a scoundrel by nurture and an outlaw by nature. Found as a child drifting through space with a sentient android called D09, Ana was saved by a fearsome space captain and the grizzled crew she now calls family. But D09—one of the last remaining illegal Metals—has been glitching, and Ana will stop at nothing to find a way to fix him.

Ana’s desperate effort to save D09 leads her on a quest to steal the coordinates to a lost ship that could offer all the answers. But at the last moment, a spoiled Ironblood boy beats Ana to her prize. He has his own reasons for taking the coordinates, and he doesn’t care what he’ll sacrifice to keep them.

When everything goes wrong, she and the Ironblood end up as fugitives on the run. Now their entire kingdom is after them—and the coordinates—and not everyone wants them captured alive.

What they find in a lost corner of the universe will change all their lives—and unearth dangerous secrets. But when a darkness from Ana’s past returns, she must face an impossible choice: does she protect a kingdom that wants her dead or save the Metal boy she loves?


Additional Information
Library of Congress Subjects:
Identity; Fiction.
Science fiction.
Dewey: [Fic]
LCCN: bl2018020247
Academic/Grade Level: Grade 10-12, Age 15-18
Book type: Juvenile Fiction
Physical Information: 8.75" H x 6.00" W x 1.50" (1.20 lbs) 467 pages
Scholastic Reading Counts Info
Quiz #: Q72694
Reading Level: 5.5   Interest Level: Grades 9-12   Point Value: 23.0
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2017 December)

Gr 7 Up—In an unusual blend of sci-fi and fantasy, this series opener (inspired by the story of Anastasia) rotates narration among an unusually large cast of characters. The central character, Ana, is accompanied by her "metal" sidekick D09, who is rapidly failing due to malware. Meanwhile, the heir to the Iron Crown must be located—one who can touch the crown without it rusting is a true heir to the emperor. There is a presumed heir, Erik, unlikable in that entitled-gentry-kid sort of way, but nobody has ever seen him touch the crown. Readers will stake their money on the younger brother, Robb, and will initially ship Robb with Ana—until it is revealed that Robb really only has eyes for Jaxx, the maverick "star kisser," who has the inherited ability to see the future. As the plot twists on, a past plague is revealed along with a sinister plan to conscript an army. With the inclusion of androids, the definition of humanity is a resounding theme. The book runs long, but the short chapters will draw readers in and the rich backstory gives them plenty to chew on. VERDICT A great choice for fans of Victoria Aveyard's "Red Queen" trilogy and for young readers looking for a hint of Game of Thrones that won't burn their eyeballs with overt sexuality.—Leah Krippner, Harlem High School, Machesney Park, IL

Copyright 2017 School Library Journal.