Limit this search to....

The Sun Is Also a Star
Contributor(s): Yoon, Nicola
ISBN: 0553496689     ISBN-13: 9780553496680
Publisher: Delacorte Pr
    OUR PRICE: $17.09  
Product Type: Hardcover
Published: November 2016
Qty:
Annotation: Natasha, whose family is hours away from being deported, and Daniel, a first generation Korean American who strives to live up to his parents' expectations, unexpectedly fall in love and must determine which path they will choose in order to be together.
Additional Information
Library of Congress Subjects:
Love; Fiction.
Fate and fatalism; Fiction.
Korean Americans; Fiction.
Dewey: [Fic]
LCCN: 2016032386
Academic/Grade Level: Grade 7-9, Age 12-14
Series: Yoon, Nicola
Book type: Juvenile Fiction
Physical Information: 8.60" H x 6.00" W x 1.25" (1.10 lbs) 348 pages
Accelerated Reader Info
Quiz #: 185630
Reading Level: 4.7   Interest Level: Upper Grades   Point Value: 10.0
Scholastic Reading Counts Info
Quiz #: Q69941
Reading Level: 4.7   Interest Level: Grades 9-12   Point Value: 17.0
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Reviewed by Horn Book Guide Reviews (Horn Book Guide Reviews 2017 Spring)
Natasha, an undocumented immigrant from Jamaica facing immediate deportation, believes in science and rationality. Daniel, burdened with his Korean-immigrant parents' expectations, believes in destiny and poetry. When their paths cross unexpectedly, and repeatedly, over one day, Daniel is convinced he's going to fall in love. In a twelve-hour race against the clock, the teens' alternating first-person narratives are fresh and compelling. Copyright 2017 Horn Book Guide Reviews.

Reviewed by Horn Book Magazine Reviews (Horn Book Magazine Reviews 2016 #6)
New York City high school senior Natasha believes in science and rationality. An undocumented immigrant from Jamaica, she and her family are facing immediate deportation thanks to her father's DUI arrest. Daniel believes in destiny and poetry. Burdened with his Korean-immigrant parents' expectations, he is appeasing them by applying to Yale, where he will study to become a doctor. But when Natasha's and Daniel's paths cross unexpectedly, and repeatedly, over the course of a day, Daniel is convinced: he is experiencing "love at second sight…the feeling when you meet someone that you're going to fall in love with them." Soon, it's a twelve-hour race against the clock: can Daniel get Natasha to fall in love with him before their time together ends? Can Natasha get the help of an immigration lawyer to stay her deportation? And what will happen if she really does have to leave the country that night? The teens' alternating first-person narrations are fresh and compelling, and interspersed throughout are relevant third-person omniscient musings on various histories, from the past and future histories of some of the book's secondary characters to the chemical history of love to a quantum theory of multiverses. Fans of Eleanor & Park (rev. 5/13) and The Fault in Our Stars (rev. 3/12) are destined to fall for Daniel and Natasha as quickly as they fall for each other. kazia berkley-cramer Copyright 2016 Horn Book Magazine Reviews.

Reviewed by Publishers Weekly Reviews (PW Reviews 2016 September #2)

Is it fate or chance that brings people together? This is the question posed in this impressively multilayered tale of a one-day romance featuring practical Natasha, whose family is facing deportation to Jamaica, and Daniel, a first-generation Korean American with a poet's sensibility. The teens' eventful day begins at a New York City record store, where they see someone shoplifting. It's the first of many significant moments that occur as Natasha desperately seeks aid to stay in America and Daniel prepares for a college interview with a Yale alum. Drawn together, separated, and converging again, both teens recognize with startling clarity that they are falling in love. With a keen eye for detail and a deep understanding of every character she introduces, Yoon (Everything, Everything) weaves an intricate web of threads connecting strangers as she delves into the personal histories of her protagonists, as well as the emotions and conflicts of others who cross their paths. A moving and suspenseful portrayal of a fleeting relationship. Ages 12–up. Agent: Sara Shandler and Joelle Hobeika, Alloy Entertainment. (Nov.)

[Page ]. Copyright 2016 PWxyz LLC

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2016 August)

Gr 8 Up—It is Natasha's last day in New York City, where she has lived for 10 years. Her family, living as undocumented immigrants in a small Brooklyn apartment, are being deported to Jamaica after her father's arrest for drunk driving. Natasha is scouring the city for a chance to stay in the United States legally. She wants the normal teen existence of her peers. Meanwhile, poetic Daniel is on his way to an interview as part of his application process to Yale. He is under great pressure to get in because his parents (who emigrated from South Korea) are adamant that he become a doctor. Events slowly conspire to bring the two leads together. When Daniel and Natasha finally meet, he falls in love immediately and convinces her to join him for the day. They tell their stories in alternating chapters. Additional voices are integrated into the book as characters interact with them. Both relatable and profound, the bittersweet ending conveys a sense of hopefulness that will resonate with teens. VERDICT This wistful love story will be adored by fans of Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park and by those who enjoyed the unique narrative structure of A.S. King's Please Ignore Vera Dietz.—Kristin Anderson, Columbus Metropolitan Library System, OH

[Page 118]. (c) Copyright 2016 Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.