Limit this search to....

Twenty Questions for Gloria Reissue Edition
Contributor(s): Bedford, Martyn
ISBN: 0553539396     ISBN-13: 9780553539394
Publisher: Wendy Lamb Books
    OUR PRICE: $16.82  
Product Type: Hardcover - Other Formats
Published: April 2016
Qty:
Annotation: Longing for adventure beyond her ordinary suburban life, 15-year-old Gloria falls for irreverent newcomer Uman, who brashly claims he wants nobody in his life except exciting and passionate people, an assertion that turns dangerous when Gloria disappears from her home. Simultaneous eBook.
Additional Information
Library of Congress Subjects:
Love; Fiction.
Runaways; Fiction.
Secrets; Fiction.
Dewey: [Fic]
LCCN: 2015010203
Lexile Measure: 710
Academic/Grade Level: Grade 10-12, Age 15-18
Book type: Juvenile Fiction
Physical Information: 8.75" H x 6.00" W x 1.00" (0.85 lbs) 276 pages
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Reviewed by Horn Book Guide Reviews (Horn Book Guide Reviews 2016 Fall)
Fifteen-year-old Gloria Ellis feels restless and dissatisfied until Uman Padeem comes to town and makes her feel important. Then he suggests they "just take off somewhere." Each chapter begins with a detective's question about the fifteen days Gloria was missing. Dropping clues with absolute control over the novel's trajectory, Bedford builds tension from the initial interview to the surprising final scene.

Reviewed by Horn Book Magazine Reviews (Horn Book Magazine Reviews 2016 #2)
For much of the spring semester, fifteen-year-old Gloria Ellis struggles with feelings of restlessness and dissatisfaction. And then a stranger comes to town, one Uman Padeem. Uman immediately notices Gloria and, turning all his considerable charm on her, makes her feel important. She's never had that kind of attention, and even though she suspects that he and some of his stories might be a little off, she's drawn to him to the exclusion of her lifelong friends. When he suggests they "just take off somewhere" and "to hell with permission," Gloria decides that's precisely what she wants to do. For the next two weeks they live off the grid, initially blissful, but when the money and food run out and Uman gets sick, Gloria decides to return home alone. The novel is structured through twenty chapters, each beginning with a question Detective Inspector Katharine Ryan asks Gloria about the fifteen days she was missing. Gloria reveals the backstory gradually, forcing readers to wonder about her reliability and the relationship. Was it love? Was Gloria trying to rescue a misunderstood boy? Did Uman kidnap her? Where is he? Is he even alive? Dropping clues with absolute control over the novel's trajectory, Bedford builds tension from the initial interview to the surprising final scene. betty carter

Reviewed by PW Annex Reviews (Publishers Weekly Annex Reviews)

With an eye for adolescent introspection, Bedford (Never Ending) sets this story in present-day England, where 15-year-old Gloria has just returned to her parents after having run away for two weeks with new student Uman Padeem. How their unauthorized adventure came about is revealed in flashbacks and through direct questioning about their escapade by a detective inspector. For Gloria, Uman's impulsivity, passion, and fearlessness embodied everything she felt was missing from her normal, public school life. And so one day, the two simply walked away from it all. The story initially focuses on Uman's possible whereabouts after Gloria's return, yet Bedford's narrative is less a mystery and more a portrayal of an adolescent grappling with existential dilemmas. The transition from the events of Gloria's disappearance to the present day builds suspense and raises questions about whether adulthood requires settling into conformity. Uman's character is underdeveloped, but readers will empathize with Gloria's desire for escape while hoping that she can find a middle ground that allows for adventure without recklessness. Ages 14–up. Agent: Tina Wexler, ICM. (Apr.)

[Page ]. Copyright 2016 PWxyz LLC

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2016 February)

Gr 7 Up—Gloria Jade Ellis, aka Glo-jay, is a typical British teenager at Litchbury High—she hangs out with her best friend, the pretty and popular Tierney, after school, gets hot chocolate with marshmallows at Cafe Nero, and watches rom-coms. It isn't until the mysterious new boy at school shows up that Gloria realizes how much she would like things to change. Uman Padeem, the new boy with the dress code-flaunting bangles on his wrist, posh accent, and Kerouac-quoting view of life inspires Gloria to break the school and social rules of her previously routine existence in pursuit of meaning and adventure. But Uman has secrets of his own, and Gloria will have to find out how fantasy and reality can coexist in the new life she is trying to create for herself. The novel's narrative framework takes the form of a police interview, with Gloria responding to questions with blunt responses and longer first-person chapters written in her voice that delineate her and Uman's growing relationship. The witty banter between the pair will appeal to teens who love books with quirky dialogue and zingy one-liners, which also provide a refreshing and authentic counterpoint to the darker themes that run through the story. Young fans of police procedurals will enjoy the suspenseful, rapid-fire pace, cinematic dialogue and believable characters (the adults in Gloria's life, in particular, have smaller roles but are sympathetic and true-to-life) of Bedford's latest novel. VERDICT For fans of Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park (St. Martin's, 2013).—Evelyn Khoo Schwartz, Georgetown Day School, Washington, DC

[Page 92]. (c) Copyright 2016 Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2016 March)

Gr 7 Up—Gloria Jade Ellis, aka Glo-jay, is a typical British teenager at Litchbury High—she hangs out with her best friend, the pretty and popular Tierney, after school, gets hot chocolate with marshmallows at Cafe Nero, and watches rom-coms. It isn't until the mysterious new boy at school shows up that Gloria realizes how much she would like things to change. Uman Padeem, the new boy with the dress code-flaunting bangles on his wrist, posh accent, and Kerouac-quoting view of life inspires Gloria to break the school and social rules of her previously routine existence in pursuit of meaning and adventure. But Uman has secrets of his own, and Gloria will have to find out how fantasy and reality can coexist in the new life she is trying to create for herself. The novel's narrative framework takes the form of a police interview, with Gloria responding to questions with blunt responses and longer first-person chapters written in her voice that delineate her and Uman's growing relationship. The witty banter between the pair will appeal to teens who love books with quirky dialogue and zingy one-liners, which also provide a refreshing and authentic counterpoint to the darker themes that run through the story. Young fans of police procedurals will enjoy the suspenseful, rapid-fire pace, cinematic dialogue and believable characters (the adults in Gloria's life, in particular, have smaller roles but are sympathetic and true-to-life) of Bedford's latest novel. VERDICT For fans of Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park (St. Martin's, 2013).—Evelyn Khoo Schwartz, Georgetown Day School, Washington, DC

[Page 92]. (c) Copyright 2016 Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.