Limit this search to....

Otherworld
Contributor(s): Segel, Jason, Miller, Kirsten
ISBN: 110193932X     ISBN-13: 9781101939321
Publisher: Delacorte Pr
    OUR PRICE: $17.09  
Product Type: Hardcover
Published: October 2017
Qty:
Annotation: A debut entry in a sci-fi thriller series by the acclaimed actor and co-screenwriter of Disney's The Muppets and the best-selling author of the Kiki Strike books is set in a cutthroat virtual reality world video game that tests the limits and courage of players who must leave their bodies behind to participate. Simultaneous eBook.
Additional Information
Library of Congress Subjects:
Virtual reality; Fiction.
Internet games; Fiction.
Best friends; Fiction.
Dewey: [Fic]
LCCN: 2017002986
Academic/Grade Level: Grade 7-9, Age 12-14
Series: Otherworld
Book type: Juvenile Fiction
Physical Information: 8.50" H x 6.00" W x 1.25" (1.05 lbs) 355 pages
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Reviewed by Publishers Weekly Reviews (PW Reviews 2017 September #3)

Simon and Kat used to be best friends, but lately she has pulled away from him and taken to hanging with a bad crowd. Then an accident leaves Kat in an unresponsive state. The only way for the two of them to connect now is through a new virtual reality game known as Otherworld. When Simon plunges into Otherworld in search of Kat, he discovers bizarre realms dedicated to giving players exactly what they want—even if it kills them—and nonplayer characters that have taken on lives of their own. Back in the real world, he investigates a conspiracy involving Otherworld's creators and their exploitation of victims like Kat. This fast-paced adventure straddles two worlds as it plays with familiar SF elements that include emergent AIs, virtual reality games, and evil corporations. Though the result is entertaining, Segal and Miller (the Nightmares! series) don't bring much new to the genre; the real strength of the story is in its supporting characters, such as possibly asexual Busara Ogubu, a fellow student with secrets of her own. Ages 12–up. (Nov.)

Copyright 2017 Publishers Weekly.

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2017 September)

Gr 8 Up—Simon is just your average delinquent teenager with a heart of gold until he returns to his New Jersey home after getting kicked out of boarding school, only to realize that his best friend and crush is avoiding him. Kat is hiding something and it looks like she's in real danger. Meanwhile, Simon gets a glimpse at the new VR game, Otherworld, and hopes to meet up with Kat there to figure out what's going on. There is an accident, and the two realize they are in much more trouble than they thought. People around the area are all mysteriously getting wounded and falling into comas, Otherworld doesn't want to let players out anymore—the code is going rogue, and the stakes might not just be a game reboot. The quick pick for conspiracy theory fans gives teens just enough setting for their imaginations to run wild while keeping the pacing quick for reluctant readers. There is just enough character building for an average action novel to keep readers plugged into the drama and enough dangling digital ethics threads to keep gamer geeks interested. Fans of M.T. Anderson's Feed, James Dashner's The Eye of Minds, Cory Doctorow's Little Brother, and Mary E. Pearson's The Adoration of Jenna Fox won't want to leave Otherworld either. VERDICT Purchase where fast-paced sci-fi thrillers are popular.—Rachel Reinwald, Lake Villa District Library, IL

Copyright 2017 School Library Journal.