Limit this search to....

Caraval
Contributor(s): Garber, Stephanie
ISBN: 1250095255     ISBN-13: 9781250095251
Publisher: Flatiron Books
    OUR PRICE: $17.09  
Product Type: Hardcover - Other Formats
Published: January 2017
Qty:
Annotation: Believing that she will never be allowed to participate in the annual Caraval performance when her ruthless father arranges her marriage, Scarlett receives the invitation she has always dreamed of before her sister, Tella, is kidnapped by the show's mastermind organizer. A first novel. Simultaneous eBook.
Additional Information
Library of Congress Subjects:
Sisters; Fiction.
Kidnapping; Fiction.
Fantasy.
Dewey: [Fic]
LCCN: bl2016055697
Academic/Grade Level: Grade 7-9, Age 12-14
Series: Caraval
Book type: Juvenile Fiction
Physical Information: 9.50" H x 6.50" W x 1.50" (1.35 lbs) 407 pages
Accelerated Reader Info
Quiz #: 187760
Reading Level: 5.8   Interest Level: Upper Grades   Point Value: 14.0
Scholastic Reading Counts Info
Quiz #: Q70368
Reading Level: 5.4   Interest Level: Grades 9-12   Point Value: 21.0
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Reviewed by Horn Book Guide Reviews (Horn Book Guide Reviews 2017 Fall)
Scarlett has always dreamed of attending the fantastical scavenger hunt Caraval. When she gets her chance, Scarlett grows convinced that the clues will lead to her missing sister. The suspenseful story is a bit too twisty-turny, but readers invested in the sisters' fates (and the outcome of steamy tension between Scarlett and companion Julian) will enjoy the ride through this darkly beautiful magical world. Copyright 2017 Horn Book Guide Reviews.

Reviewed by Horn Book Magazine Reviews (Horn Book Magazine Reviews 2017 #2)
Scarlett has agreed to marry a count she's never met in hopes that her marriage will take her and her sister Tella away from their abusive, manipulative father. The only dream Scarlett has ever truly allowed herself is to attend Caraval, a five-night scavenger hunt with the prize of a granted wish, held in a fantastical city entirely created by the infamous magician Legend. After Tella and intriguing-but-exasperating stranger Julian scheme to get all three of them to Caraval, Tella is separated from the others, and Scarlett grows convinced that the scavenger hunt's clues lead not only to the prize but to her sister as well. Scarlett is enchanted by strange loveliness she discovers while searching: a carousel made of roses; divinatory tattoos that reveal the beholder's future. But Caraval may be as deadly as it is exquisite, and despite the distance from home, it's not as far outside her father's influence as Scarlett hoped. The stakes grow ever higher, and Scarlett is no longer sure what's real or whom she can trust. The suspenseful story is perhaps a bit too twisty-turny, but readers invested in the sisters' fates (not to mention the outcome of steamy will-they-or-won't-they? tension between Scarlett and Julian) will hang on tight and enjoy the ride. Garber's darkly beautiful and brutal magical world is the star here, anyway, full of luscious details that invite readers to linger despite the breakneck pace. katie bircher Copyright 2017 Horn Book Magazine Reviews.

Reviewed by Publishers Weekly Reviews (PW Reviews 2016 October #3)
At the start of Garber's magnificent debut novel, the mysterious Master Legend invites sisters Scarlett and Donatella Dragna to attend Caraval—a magical multiday event that is part spectacle, part treasure hunt. Although their tyrannical father has threatened death if they leave home without his permission, Tella strikes a deal with a roguish sailor named Julian for transport to Legend's private island—a plan that essentially involves kidnapping the conflicted Scarlett, who is weeks away from marrying a man she's never met. Upon arrival, Tella is taken, and it's revealed that she is the subject of this year's hunt. Scarlett and Julian join forces to find her, but in a game in which secrets are currency and appearances deceive, Scarlett has no way of knowing whether she's a Caraval player or Master Legend's pawn. Intriguing characters, an imaginative setting, and evocative writing combine to create a spellbinding tale of love, loss, sacrifice, and hope. While the search for Tella drives the narrative, Scarlett's quest for self-empowerment is equally captivating. Scarlett and Julian's chemistry intoxicates, and Garber's tantalizing conclusion will leave readers hungry for a sequel. Ages 13–up. Agent: Jenny Bent, Bent Agency. (Jan.) Copyright 2016 Publisher Weekly.

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2016 October)
Gr 8 Up—Scarlett and her sister, Donatella, have been raised on a remote island by a demanding and cruel father. Scarlett is about to be married to a man she's never met, and though her long-held dream of receiving an invitation to Caraval, the once-a-year, fantastical, immersive performance, has come true, she believes attending would jeopardize her wedding and destroy her sole chance to get herself and Tella away from their father. When her sister teams up with a sailor to trick Scarlett onto a ship and take her anyway, the heroine plans to stay for a night or two, then return home for her wedding. But then Tella is kidnapped by Legend, Caraval's mysterious mastermind, and the protagonist learns that she can get her sister back only if she plays Legend's game for five nights—and wins. It won't be easy, though. Nothing (and no one) at Caraval is what it seems: time speeds up, clothing morphs according to its own agenda, and players may be called on to pay for things with their deepest fears or two days of their lives. Without knowing whom she can trust, including her own reason and senses, Scarlett must work out where her sister is and how to save her. This twisty, terrifically fun page-turner is ideal for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, Neil Gaiman's Stardust, and fantasy novels where relationships between sisters drive the plot, such as "The Hunger Games" or Rosamund Hodge's Cruel Beauty. VERDICT A must-have fantasy debut for high school collections.—Stephanie Klose, School Library Journal. Copyright 2016 School Library Journal.