Limit this search to....

After the Woods Reprint Edition
Contributor(s): Savage, Kim
ISBN: 1250104300     ISBN-13: 9781250104304
Publisher: Square Fish
    OUR PRICE: $13.19  
Product Type: Paperback
Published: February 2017
Qty:
Annotation: With the one year anniversary approaching of the Shiverton abduction, Julia and Liv struggle with the consequences of the event.
Additional Information
Library of Congress Subjects:
Kidnapping; Fiction.
Emotional problems; Fiction.
Friendship; Fiction.
Dewey: [Fic]
LCCN: bl2017012289
Academic/Grade Level: Grade 10-12, Age 15-18
Book type: Juvenile Fiction
Physical Information: 8.00" H x 5.00" W x 1.00" (0.60 lbs) 296 pages
Accelerated Reader Info
Quiz #: 186435
Reading Level: 5.0   Interest Level: Upper Grades   Point Value: 11.0
Scholastic Reading Counts Info
Quiz #: Q70991
Reading Level: 5.5   Interest Level: Grades 9-12   Point Value: 18.0
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Contributor Bio(s): Kim Savage was born in Quincy, Massachusetts and received her master's degree in Journalism from Northeastern University. Her work includes the critically acclaimed novels After the Woods and Beautiful Broken Girls. She lives with her husband and three children north of Boston.

Reviewed by Horn Book Guide Reviews (Horn Book Guide Reviews 2016 Fall)
When Julia and her best friend, Liv, are attacked in the woods, Julia helps Liv get away before being captured herself. Eventually she escapes, becoming a local hero. A year later, Julia tries to unpack fractured memories that implicate Liv. This psychological mystery builds from the girls' well-developed relationship and secret-filled history, and Savage skillfully sustains tension and atmosphere. Copyright 2016 Horn Book Guide Reviews.

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2015 December)

Gr 9 Up—The one time Julia runs fast enough to keep up with her best friend, Liv, during their training in the woods, she witnesses Liv get attacked by a strange man. Julia intervenes, putting herself in danger instead. Abducted by the man, Julia escapes two days later. She insists to Liv, her therapist, and her mother that she survived the attack relatively unscathed. After a body surfaces in the same woods almost a year later, Julia starts to experience post-traumatic stress disorder-related flashbacks and realizes that there's more to the story than the news coverage. She's not sure who to trust anymore but enlists the help of her mousy neighbor, a glamorous newscaster, and the dreamy son of the local police chief to unravel the connections. The plot is twisty and dramatic; the references to trauma and abuse are more titillating than profound, giving the serious subject matter a breathless tone. At times it seems like the author tries to address too many timely subjects instead of delving more deeply into one or two, and some of the characterizations seem forced, but the writing is clear and accessible. VERDICT An entertaining, if choppy mystery that will appeal to fans of Law & Order-type plots.—Kyle Lukoff, Corlears School, New York City

[Page 128]. (c) Copyright 2015 Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.