Limit this search to....

Specials
Contributor(s): Westerfeld, Scott
ISBN: 1442419792     ISBN-13: 9781442419797
Publisher: Simon Pulse
    OUR PRICE: $15.59  
Product Type: Paperback - Other Formats
Published: May 2011
Qty:
Annotation: The third installment of Scott Westerfeld’s New York Times bestselling and award-winning Uglies series—a global phenomenon that started the dystopian trend.

Tally thought they were a rumor, but now she’s one of them. A Special. A super-amped fighting machine, engineered to keep the uglies down and the pretties stupid.

But maybe being perfectly programmed with strength and focus isn’t better than anything she’s ever known. Tally still has memories of something else.

Still, it’s easy to tune that out—until she’s offered a chance to stamp out the rebels of the New Smoke permanently. It all comes down to one last choice: listen to that tiny, faint heartbeat, or carry out the mission she’s programmed to complete. Either way, Tally’s world will never be the same.
Additional Information
Library of Congress Subjects:
Beauty, Personal; Fiction.
Brainwashing; Fiction.
Science fiction.
Dewey: [Fic]
LCCN: bl2011011443
Academic/Grade Level: Grade 7-9, Age 12-14
Series: The Uglies
Book type: Juvenile Fiction
Physical Information: 8.25" H x 5.50" W x 1.25" (0.78 lbs) 350 pages
Accelerated Reader Info
Quiz #: 106651
Reading Level: 6.1   Interest Level: Middle Grades   Point Value: 12.0
Scholastic Reading Counts Info
Quiz #: Q39017
Reading Level: 2.5   Interest Level: Grades 9-12   Point Value: 19.0
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Contributor Bio(s):
Scott Westerfeld
‘s other teen books include the Midnighters series, Peeps, So Yesterday, and The Last Days. He divides his summers between Sydney, Australia, and New York City.

Reviewed by Horn Book Guide Reviews (Horn Book Guide Reviews 2011 Fall)
Westerfeld's unique dystopian "trilogy plus one" receives a full redesign (in hardcover, no less), from covers to trim size and page design, in an apparent attempt to market the books to a crossover audience. [Review covers these titles: Extras, Pretties, Specials, and Uglies.] Copyright 2011 Horn Book Guide Reviews.

Reviewed by Horn Book Guide Reviews (Horn Book Guide Reviews 2007 Spring)
Tally Youngblood is a "special," one of an elite force with a gorgeous but lethal physique and superhuman athletic ability. In a gripping plot, she and her friend, Shay, accidentally destroy a weapons armory, which leads to war with a neighboring city. Westerfeld's writing isn't subtle, but he brings the trilogy ([cf2]Uglies[cf1], [cf2]Pretties[cf1]) to a humane conclusion with a surprising twist. Copyright 2007 Horn Book Guide Reviews.

Reviewed by Horn Book Magazine Reviews (Horn Book Magazine Reviews 2006 #5)
In the final volume of the trilogy that began with Uglies, Tally Youngblood has now gone beyond being a "pretty" and is now a "special," one of an elite force with a gorgeous but lethal physique and superhuman athletic ability. The goal of a pretty was to be "bubbly," but now Tally's goal is to stay "icy" -- not easy once she and her friend Shay accidentally destroy a weapons armory, leading to war with a neighboring city. As the gripping plot progresses, Tally struggles with the underlying question of her identity; she also realizes that the issues that initially seemed very clearly divided between good and evil are far more nuanced than she had thought, that power needs resistance in order to keep it from becoming corrupted. Westerfeld's writing is never subtle, but he lets readers get beneath Tally's beautiful skin and brings the trilogy to a humane conclusion with a surprising twist. Copyright 2006 Horn Book Magazine Reviews.

Reviewed by Publishers Weekly Reviews (PW Reviews 2007 August #4)
This installment of the Uglies series finds 16-year-old Tally fully programmed to be an elite governmental fighting machine. But when she is ordered to destroy a New Smoke rebel settlement, Tally is caught between a remnant of her humanity and her mission as a Special. Ages 12-up. (Sept.) Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

Reviewed by Publishers Weekly Reviews (PW Reviews 2006 June #4)
Bringing the Uglies trilogy to a close, Specials by Scott Westerfeld follows Tally Youngblood, first met in Uglies (which PW said "introduces thought-provoking issues"), as she is turned into a Special, a high-octane fighting machine, programmed to keep the uglies down and the pretties stupid. Can she listen to the small voice in her head or will she destroy New Smoke's residents? Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2006 July)

Gr 8 Up -This final installment in the series is a warning of the dangers of overconsumption and conformity. Set some time in the future, after a human-made bacteria destroyed the modern world, the trilogy tells of new cities established and tightly controlled through brainwashing and a series of operations leading to a compliant society. Tally Youngblood, the 16-year-old protagonist, learns in the first two books that free will and truth are more important than a false sense of security. In Specials , she has become an elite fighting machine, fully enhanced with nanotechnology and super-fast reflexes, and made to work as a Special Circumstances agent for the nameless city that she fled. As in the first two books, much of the story takes place with characters whizzing through the air on hoverboards, but Tally and her friends are in for some harsh realities here. Readers who enjoyed Uglies and Pretties (both S & S, 2005) will not want to miss Specials , but those who have not read those books will not understand much of what is happening. Westerfeld's themes include vanity, environmental conservation, Utopian idealism, fascism, violence, and love. In this trilogy, the author calls for a revolution in our hearts and minds-think The Matrix .-Corinda J. Humphrey, Los Angeles Public Library

[Page 116]. Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.