Limit this search to....

The Place Between Breaths
Contributor(s): Na, An
ISBN: 1481422251     ISBN-13: 9781481422253
Publisher: Atheneum
    OUR PRICE: $16.19  
Product Type: Hardcover
Published: March 2018
Qty:
Annotation: Grace, sixteen, fears that she will succumb to the schizophrenia that took her mother away, while she and her father work for a genetics lab rushing to find a cure.
Additional Information
Library of Congress Subjects:
Schizophrenia; Fiction.
Mental illness; Fiction.
Genetics; Fiction.
Dewey: [Fic]
LCCN: 2017034370
Academic/Grade Level: Grade 7-9, Age 12-14
Book type: Juvenile Fiction
Physical Information: 8.50" H x 5.75" W x 1.00" (0.65 lbs) 181 pages
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Reviewed by Publishers Weekly Reviews (PW Reviews 2018 January #2)

Na (The Fold) creates a powerful impression of life with schizophrenia in this psychologically intense novel. Grace King's father is determined to help find a cure for the mental disorder that plagued his wife and caused her to disappear when Grace was a child. A former doctor, he has taken an administrative position at the Genentium clinic where Grace has secured a prestigious internship. Although the clinic is filled with brilliant, dedicated doctors, Grace doesn't share her father's optimism that a cure for schizophrenia will be found. Then her own sense of reality begins to deteriorate; she becomes increasingly disoriented and preoccupied with images and sounds, including the nightmarish clamor of an approaching train. The disjointed structure of the novel—jumping from one reality to another, and moving among first-, second-, and third-person perspectives—effectively reflects the state of Grace's mind, in which time is not linear but rather an incomplete mosaic of events past, present, and imagined. Readers will feel Grace's tension viscerally, as she weighs hope against despair. Ages 12–up. Agent: Holly McGhee, Pippin Properties. (Mar.)

Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2018 March)

Gr 9 Up—Grace King is a resilient and talented high school senior, who has had to raise herself since her mother, who has schizophrenia, left the family when Grace was five. Grace's father, a doctor turned researcher and recruiter, has obsessively devoted his life to finding his wife and advancing the treatment of the disease. More than a decade later, he is sure that he has lured the best geneticists in the field to work at a lab outside of Chicago and that they are about to make a significant breakthrough. Grace, who has won a coveted internship at the lab, has long since given up on romantic notions of her mother's return or the belief in a miracle cure. She is a hard-core realist and a scientist through and through, until she starts to exhibit many of the symptoms that took her mother away from her and is forced to reexamine everything she thought she knew about faith and religion, science, and, most of all, hope. Steeped in lyricism and metaphor, Na's devastating story explores the workings of the human mind, the melancholy sweetness of memory, and the power of dreams. The narrative is revealed in nonlinear seasonal chapters told in different voices, which reinforce the protagonist's sense of dislocation and disorientation. VERDICT A slim but demanding and haunting novel for readers of Beth Kephart's One Stolen Thing or John Green's Turtles All the Way Down.—Luann Toth, School Library Journal

Copyright 2018 School Library Journal.