Limit this search to....

An Enchantment of Ravens
Contributor(s): Rogerson, Margaret
ISBN: 1481497588     ISBN-13: 9781481497589
Publisher: Margaret K McElderry
    OUR PRICE: $16.19  
Product Type: Hardcover
Published: September 2017
Qty:
Annotation: A superbly skilled portrait artist who includes among her patrons the sinister, immortal fair folk who covet her talents, Isobel makes the terrible mistake of revealing an autumn faerie prince's sorrow in his portrait, a choice that strands them both in a hostile land where they risk their lives to pursue forbidden feelings for each other. A first novel. Simultaneous eBook.
Additional Information
Library of Congress Subjects:
Artists; Fiction.
Fairies; Fiction.
Love; Fiction.
Dewey: [Fic]
LCCN: bl2017038827
Academic/Grade Level: Grade 10-12, Age 15-18
Book type: Juvenile Fiction
Physical Information: 10.00" H x 6.75" W x 1.25" (1.05 lbs) 300 pages
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Reviewed by Publishers Weekly Reviews (PW Reviews 2017 July #3)

Seventeen-year-old Isobel is a master of her "Craft"—painting portraits—in the town of Whimsy, where it is always summer and which borders the forest where the "fair folk" have their kingdoms. When the fairies' autumn prince, Rook, requests a portrait, Isobel's world is upended. Petulant and beautiful Rook, whose eyes hold "sorrow, as raw as an open wound," frightens and beguiles Isobel; when he is upset by what his portrait reveals to his kingdom, he abducts her so that she might stand trial for the affront. Rogerson's moody debut novel is suffused with an intoxicating and palpable romantic longing. As Isobel and Rook break the "Good Law" by falling for each other, Rogerson turns forbidden love into fresh adventure with danger, chases, a glorious ball, and unexpected narrative turns. Readers will delight in her interpretation of classic fairy themes and lore, and in the humor laced into the story (Isobel's rowdy younger sisters began life as goats, before being ensorcelled by a drunk fairy). An ideal pick for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor. Ages 14–up. Agent: Sara Megibow, KT Literary. (Sept.)

Copyright 2017 Publisher Weekly.

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2017 September)

Gr 7 Up—This debut novel offers a lively romantic adventure. Seventeen-year-old Isobel is a talented painter who finds herself in demand by the fair folk, immortal beings captivated by human handicrafts. They pay her in enchantments, which she is careful to phrase in such a way that there can be no loopholes. But her newest client, Rook, is unlike other fair folk she's met—there is a sorrow behind his eyes. When she captures this in a painting, his status is challenged in his kingdom as fair folk can never be seen to have a flaw. Isobel accompanies Rook on a The Princess Bride—style magical adventure back to his home kingdom, finding along the way that their sparring relationship could turn into something more. Rogerson ably builds this fantasy world through canny details and contemporary dialogue, allowing for an enjoyable read by fantasy and non-fantasy readers alike. She also craftily depicts the power imbalance between Isobel and Rook, offering a refreshing dynamic in which Isobel often comes out on top. VERDICT A funny, action-packed, and sweet romance sure to appeal to fans of Holly Black, Diana Wynne Jones, and Sarah J. Maas.—Ann Foster, Saskatoon Public Library, Sask.

Copyright 2017 School Library Journal.