Limit this search to....

The Chaos of Standing Still
Contributor(s): Brody, Jessica
ISBN: 1481499181     ISBN-13: 9781481499187
Publisher: Simon Pulse
    OUR PRICE: $16.19  
Product Type: Hardcover
Published: November 2017
Qty:
Annotation: Ryn, eighteen, trapped by a massive blizzard in the Denver airport, meets some unique characters who help her cope with survivor's guilt on the first anniversary of her best friend's death.
Additional Information
Library of Congress Subjects:
Interpersonal relations; Fiction.
Best friends; Fiction.
Friendship; Fiction.
Dewey: [Fic]
LCCN: 2017007753
Academic/Grade Level: Grade 7-9, Age 12-14
Book type: Juvenile Fiction
Physical Information: 8.50" H x 6.00" W x 1.50" (1.05 lbs) 406 pages
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Reviewed by Publishers Weekly Reviews (PW Reviews 2017 September #4)

For months 18-year-old Ryn has been struggling to accept the car crash that killed her best friend Lottie. As the anniversary of the event draws near, an anxious and withdrawn Ryn plans to spend the day at home, far from other people. Instead she gets stranded at a crowded airport during a blizzard. Spanning less than 24 hours, Brody's psychologically taut novel examines the internal and external crises of a grieving teen who is unable to express her emotions. Haunted by images and the voice of vibrant, capricious Lottie, who had always been her guide, Ryn just wants to find a place to hide but is distracted by strangers: a child genius who needs her to pretend that she's his sister, a sassy waitress who invites her to a party, and a teenage boy who coaxes her out of her shell and inspires her to take a hard look at herself and the friend she has lost. Absorbing from first page to last, Brody's novel gradually unveils Ryn's complicated history and celebrates her most profound moments of truth. Ages 14–up. Agent: Jim McCarthy, Dystel, Goderich & Bourret. (Nov.)

Copyright 2017 Publishers Weekly.

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2017 October)

Gr 9 Up—Ryn Gilbert's life changed irrevocably a year ago when her best friend, Lottie, was behind the wheel of a T-boned car. Ryn has held onto many things ever since, including one text message that allows her to keep Lottie near— it has gotten to the point that she questions her own sanity, and even keeps her therapist from knowing that she still sees and speaks to her friend. Now Ryn is stuck in the Denver Airport on the night before the anniversary of Lottie's death due to a blizzard with Xander, a boy she meets when they accidentally swap phones. The airport setting allows Ryn to open up to Xander, who is connected to her by circumstance and weighed down by his own issues. It also allows them to interact with other unique characters, including a child prodigy and the slightly older airport workers Siri and Harvey, who throw an illicit New Year's Eve party, while helping Ryn work out problems that she has been unable to face in her own life. This will appeal to fans of Jennifer E. Smith's books and Nicola Yoon's Everything, Everything. VERDICT A solid choice for contemporary romance collections in public and school libraries.—Betsy Fraser, Calgary Public Library, Canada

Copyright 2017 School Library Journal.