Limit this search to....

Little Do We Know
Contributor(s): Stone, Tamara Ireland
ISBN: 1484768213     ISBN-13: 9781484768211
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
    OUR PRICE: $16.19  
Product Type: Hardcover
Published: June 2018
Qty:
Annotation: Told from two viewpoints, neighbors and former best friends Hannah and Emory, seventeen, must face what caused their rift after Hannah saves the life of Emory's boyfriend, Luke.
Additional Information
Library of Congress Subjects:
Best friends; Fiction.
Friendship; Fiction.
Dating (Social customs); Fiction.
Dewey: [Fic]
LCCN: 2018004933
Academic/Grade Level: Grade 7-9, Age 12-14
Book type: Juvenile Fiction
Physical Information: 8.50" H x 6.00" W x 1.25" (1.30 lbs) 397 pages
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Contributor Bio(s):
Tamara Ireland Stone writes young adult and middle grade novels. Her New York Times bestseller, Every Last Word, won the Cybils Young Adult Fiction Award, the Georgia Peach Book Award, and was a YALSA Teens' Top Ten pick. She is also the author of Time Between Us, which has been published in over twenty countries; its sequel, Time After Time; and Click'd, the first book in her new middle-grade series.

Before she began writing fiction full time, Tamara spent twenty years in the technology industry. She co-founded a woman-owned marketing strategy and communications firm where she worked with small startups as well as some of the world's largest software companies. When she's not writing, she enjoys skiing, seeing live music, watching movies, and spending time with her husband and two children. She lives in the San Francisco Bay Area. Visit her at TamaraIrelandStone.com.


Reviewed by Publishers Weekly Reviews (PW Reviews 2018 April #2)

Despite their different personalities, Emory and Hannah have been best friends and next-door neighbors since childhood. But after a bitter argument, which ends with Emory calling Hannah a "sheep" for always following her minister father's beliefs, the two don't speak as they continue their senior years at separate high schools. Emory focuses on her lead role in a school play and her forthcoming acting audition at UCLA. Hannah continues to play the role of devoted daughter at the Christian school where her father is principal, but she is haunted by Emory's words and begins to question everything she's been taught. Then Hannah finds Emory's boyfriend Luke unconscious in front of her house, changing the lives of all three teens. Touching on weighty issues, including sexual harassment, religious crises, friendship, and taboo love, Stone (Time Between Us) writes a thought-provoking novel that challenges conventional ideas. With well-developed detail, the characters have realistic vulnerabilities and experience profound transformations that lead them to look at the world differently. Ages 14–18. Agent: Caryn Wiseman, Andrea Brown Literary Agency. (June)

Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2018 June)

Gr 9 Up—Stone's latest novel explores how trauma of any kind can change us forever. Hannah and Emory were best friends until a few months ago. The grass between their two houses was their safe haven, but has been abandoned since the morning of a horrible argument. Hannah is questioning her faith in God as Emory is dealing with a hidden secret and the anticipation of having to part from her boyfriend, Luke, at the end of the summer. The teens' lives collide when Hannah finds Luke in an unresponsive state and Emory is forced to see her. Stone paints a true picture of trauma and its effects on our minds and bodies. The themes of faith, fate, and friendship radiate throughout. Though a few sexual scenes are present, they are short and not overly detailed. Readers who liked Emery Lord's When We Collided or Nicola Yoon's The Sun Is Also a Star will take to this serious topic and narrative style. VERDICT A realistic fiction novel for those who enjoy a dramatic romance; a must-have for most YA shelves. —Elizabeth Pelayo, St. Charles East High School, IL

Copyright 2018 School Library Journal.